General Mills recently announced on their website that their original Cheerios will now be made without genetically modified ingredients. Other flavors of Cheerios will continue to be made without changes to the ingredients.
On Cheerio.com, the company states that they have made some changes to their ingredient sources and manufacturing plants, saying, “our corn starch comes from non-GMO corn, and we use only non-GMO pure cane sugar.” The company goes on to explain, “Original Cheerios cereal is not made with genetically modified ingredients. Though there may always be a chance of some small amount of material coming from some other source, such as in shipping or manufacturing, none of the ingredients in original Cheerios are genetically modified.”
Original Cheerios, which come in the distinctive yellow box, will now be labeled “Not Made With Genetically Modified Ingredients,” though this hasn’t been verified by a third party such as the Non-GMO Project.
© 2014 Natural News Network